Wordy nerdy

Hello there patient reader!  How have you been?  Good I hope.

Well, it’s been a very long time since I wrote here, I’ve missed it.  I have however done a little blogging lately, which can be found here.  But if you don’t have time to look at that right now, it begins with me stating that I’m easing myself back into writing gently.  Although, it would appear that the words are flowing swiftly and easily at the present moment in time, happily.  This is a good thing, as I have many projects that have been shamefully neglected for a rather excessive, yet necessary amount of time.  Sometimes things are unavoidable.

That being said, I think phase two in my return to writing should be nurturing my love of the wonder of words.  So a little wordy nerdy business…

  • vulpine: 1. of or resembling a fox.  2. cunning or crafty.
  • coze: noun 1. a friendly talk. verb 1. to converse in a friendly way; chat.
  • mumpsimus: noun 1. adherence to or persistence in an erroneous use of language, memorization, practice, belief, etc., out of habit or obstinacy (opposed to sumpsimus).  2. a person who persists in a mistaken expression or practice (opposed to sumpsimus).
  • orogeny: noun 1. Geology.  the process of mountain making or upheaval.  Also called orogenesis (am I the only one who thinks this is a massive innuendo??!)
  • throttlebottom: noun 1. (sometimes lowercase) a harmless incompetent in public office.
  • ort: noun 1. a scrap or morsel of food left at a meal.  Usually, orts.
  • anthophilous: adjective 1. attracted by or living among flowers.  (are we on the right blog?) 2. feeding on flowers, as certain insects.  Also, anthophagous.
  • vaunting: adjective 1. having a boastfully proud disposition; a vaunting dictator.  2. marked by  boastful pride; a vaunting air of superiority.
  • smaragdine: adjective 1. emerald-green in colour.  2. of or relating to emeralds.
  • code-switching: noun 1. the modifying of one’s behaviour, appearance, etc., to adapt to different sociocultural norms: For many female Muslim students, code-switching from their home environment to that of school requires forgoing the hijab.  2. Linguistics. the alternating or mixed use of two or more languages, especially within the same discourse: My grandma’s code-switching when we cook together reminds me of my family’s origins.  Bilingual students are discouraged from code-switching during class.  

These words and definitions come from here.

That’s enough for today, but this was fun.

Leave a Reply

