Get your weird on

recovery network: Toronto

This piece is a response to Louise Gillet’s So, How Can I Tell If My Kids Are Weird?  [see link below] in which she is responding to parent calling their kids “weird”.

There are no weird kids 
There are no weird kids – what is weird is growing up in a world where adults call kids – especially their own kids -names like “weird”.

I’ve been called “weird” a lot – especially when I was young. It used to hurt – a lot.

Nowadays I realize that when someone says to me:

“you’re weird”

It just means :

“you’re really not like me”

so I say:

“thank you”.

Weird is just:
Wired: differently.

– and we all are: wired differently. If you’re not weird then you’re either boring – or else dead.

When it comes to children and weird, Hunter S Thompson had it about right:

“Weird behaviour is natural…

View original post 257 more words

Leave a Reply

