Mummy’s morning

After my hectic dashing around yesterday morning, getting little people ready in time for school and my trip to the dentist, courtesy of my sister and Charmayne (thanks guys, although I did have Kate Bush in my head for the rest of the day!), it was nice to have a fellow mummy round this morning with her 4 week old baby girl for a nice chat with chocolate cupcakes and coffee (decaf, of course).  It wasn’t much of a play-date for my little lordship, as he’s nearly 7 months old and his little lady friend was asleep for the duration of the visit, but it was nice to just sit and have a grown up conversation with someone who is very much in the same stage of life as I am.  She does have 3 children to my 2, but I think we have a pretty good understanding of each others’ lives, as neither of us has the time or disposable income to be wearing designer clothes only once and shopping at M&S for our groceries.  Living proof that children are expensive, but priceless. 

She is, however, the only one of my friends who is yet to read the Twilight saga, therefore she currently has a copy of mine ready for when she has the time and inclination to visit Forks.  I hope she won’t be disappointed.  If that’s even possible!  Although, my all-time favourite author doesn’t seem to be very enamoured with Stephenie Meyer’s books… 

Hilarious!  I don’t know if it’s genuine, but I don’t care it’s funny.  I do dearly love the Twilight saga, but it’s nowhere near in the same league as the great Stephen King, sorry, not even close.  He is a far more accomplished and prolific writer of many more wonderful books than Stephenie Meyer is ever likely to be.  Fans of whom should really not be so precious about that.  Enjoy reading what you do, guilty pleasure or literary masterpiece, does it matter what anyone else thinks?  Really? 

If it makes you smile, or holds your attention in any way, that’s a good book surely?  Even if only a handful of people think so.  For myself I can’t stand any more of that mis-lit crap, I read a few and thought to myself, the world is full of cruelty and people behaving grossly towards each other, why would I want to read about it?  It is for that same reason I refuse to watch any type of soap opera or Jeremy Kyle chat-show, it’s everywhere you look in reality, why saturate yourself in it in your leisure time?  But, I do understand the lure of them for some and wouldn’t think any less of someone who loves their Eastenders or whatever, like I do with my True Blood.  I’d just rather laugh or indulge in a bit of supernatural fantasy than ‘real-life’ things, as my mother-in-law puts it “it’s not real”, which is kind-of the point.  That’s just me.  It’s these differences that make conversations interesting, understanding the perspective of another person, that is something else to enjoy I think, not be frustrated by. 

But differences in your music collections… they are a different story!  😉 

Here’s the Kate Bush right back at you, Noel Fielding style…

2 Responses to “Mummy’s morning”

  1. Nicola Says:

    Totally agree jen…i cant stand eastenders or any of the other depressive and argumentative soaps but i do love true blood, etc. However when discussing the love of these programmes to other people, i seem to be looked at rather weirdly and even more so when i say that i dont watch the soaps. the world, especially the area of work that we work in can be so cruel and depressing and i do not want to follow that up with soaps….plus does any of them have a bill, eric or alicide in…i dont think so! xx

  2. They most certainly do not 😉

Leave a comment